Skip links and keyboard navigation

About the Community Consultation Committees

Who are the Community Consultation Committees?

Members of the Community Consultation Committees include previous patients, carers, consumers, community members, local government representatives and Health Service staff who are passionate about the quality and safety of healthcare provided to members of our community.

There are four Community Consultation Committees in the Health Service:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health
  • Cassowary Coast Hub
  • Hinterland Hub
  • Trinity Hub

What is their purpose?

The purpose of the Community Consultation Committees is to provide advice to the Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Board (Board) on local health care services from a consumer and community perspective.

How do they interact with the Health Service?

Committee members:

  • Consult community members about their experience of health care services provided.
  • Collate all of the information gathered from community members.
  • Inform the Health Service on community members' perspectives about their experience of health care services provided.
  • Work together with staff to implement changes.

The Committees, reporting through the Community Advisory Group (the conduit between the community and the Board), are accountable to the Board.

Governance Structure

Governance Structure

Last updated: 1 September 2020


Consumer & Community Engagement Coordinator
Level 2 GHD Building
85 Spence Street

Compliment and Complaints

PO Box 902

Our Healthy Regions

Find out more about our Health Service and our services