Skip links and keyboard navigation

CQ Health Awards recognise star performers

31 July 2019

CQ Health has recognised its star performers in its 2019 MedRecruit Staff Recognition Awards, with a gala presentation night at CQ Leagues Club in Rockhampton.

MedRecruit Team of the Year is Central Queensland Public Health Unit Team, and CQ Radiology Employee of the Year is Nephrologist (kidney specialist) Dr Zaw Thet.

The Central Queensland Public Health Unit team was recognised for their many initiatives to create a healthier Central Queensland community, such as continuing to develop the widely successful 10,000 Lives smoking cessation project and ensuring Central Queensland has one of the highest childhood immunisation rates in Australia.

Dr Thet was chosen for his tireless work for Central Queensland’s dialysis patients and for being a great role model for fellow doctors, registrars and junior doctors.

Chief Executive Steve Williamson is extremely proud of CQ Health staff and the dedication they show every day. He said the annual awards, now win their third year, were the perfect chance to step back and say thanks.

“None of our staff do what they do for recognition - they’re in their chosen profession because they’re passionate and caring people, but we believe it’s essential that their professionalism and dedication is recognised,” he said.

“The gala was a wonderful event. It’s heartening to reflect on another successful year and to reward the extra effort our team members are making to build a truly great health service for their community.

“I congratulate all of our winners, but also the 32 finalists and over 140 nominees. I am very proud to lead such a fantastic team and they deserve to be thanked for the effort they put in every day to provide great care to the people of Central Queensland.”

“It’s all a part of building a great place to work, and recognising those staff who are living our values – Care, Integrity, Respect and Commitment.”

Other category winners are:

Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Achievement: Candise Bradshaw

Chief Executive’s Behind the Scenes Award: Carmelita Geddes

Primary Health Network Improvement and Innovation Award: Blood Borne Virus and Sexual Health Service

Triple M Central Queensland Community (People’s Choice) Award: Loretta Green

Make the Workplace Great Award: Belinda Tidbury

Clinical Excellence Division Clinical Excellence Award: Tyrone Kolbe and Campbell Murfin

CQ University Inclusion and Diversity Award: Trudy Tempest

QSuper CQ Health Values Award: Robert Cody

Last updated: 1 August 2019

CQ Health media enquiries

Media Manager (Central Queensland)
Phone (07) 4920 6711

Connect with us

Join us on social media as we create a more connected health community.

facebook linked in The YouTube icon The icon of Instagram