Skip links and keyboard navigation

CQ Health Awards recognise star performers

21 October 2022

CQ Health Awards recognise star performers

CQ Health has recognised its star performers at the 2022 MedRecruit Staff Recognition Awards, with a gala presentation night at CQ Leagues Club in Rockhampton last night.

Employee of the Year is Public Health Director Professor Gulam Khandaker, and Team of the Year is the Community Care Unit (CCU) in North Rockhampton.

As well as leading the Central Queensland Public Health Unit, Prof Khandaker takes a clinical lead when it comes to research. He supervises public health registrars, Masters and PhD students through their study, research projects, peer review publications and dissertations. He maintains an active interest in First Nations health through on-the-ground programs, innovative research, and peer publications. He is an inspirational individual and leader. His commitment and passion to not only his job, but to research, is second to none. He continually supports others to further develop their skills and education.

The Community Care Unit team includes nurses, allied health, doctors, admin and operational staff, who all work together to play a part in ensuring the facility runs smoothly and provides excellent recovery care outcomes for residents. The team works to make consumers’ goals a reality through a recovery focus philosophy, so they can return with confidence to the life they see for themselves.

Chief Executive Dr Emma McCahon is proud of CQ Health staff, saying they show incredible dedication and commitment to their community every day, but annual staff awards are important to enable recognition of standout performers, and say thanks.

“While our staff don’t come to work to be recognised in this way, there are many people and teams who regularly go above and beyond the call of duty and it’s important to call them out as the wonderful role models they are,” she said.

Dr McCahon said the awards night was a great opportunity for staff to reflect on another wonderful year of providing great health service to the community. There were a record 257 nominations received, with 52 finalists from across the CQ Health footprint chosen for 11 categories.

“Congratulations to all of our award winners, but also to our whole CQ Health family for the wonderful care they continue to provide to our community.”

Other category winners are:

Clinical Excellence Award: CQ COVID Clinical Response Team

Closing the Gap Award: Deborah and Wayne Broome

Triple M People’s Choice Award: Wendy Kemp (Registered Nurse, Capricorn Coast ED)

CQ Health Values Award (Care): Nurse and Midwife Navigation Service Team

CQ Health Values Award (Commitment): Liza Pretorius (Oral Health Therapist)

CQ Health Values Award (Integrity): Matthew Hardy (Fire Safety and Security Officer)

CQ Health Values Award (Respect): Renal Services Team

Excellence in Non-Clinical Services Award: Darren Bowman (Environmental Services Coordinator, Rockhampton)

Improvement and Innovation Award: Hospital in the Home Team

Inclusion and Diversity Award: Rhiana Jackson (Clinical Nurse, Adult Mental Health)

Leadership Excellence Award: Kirsty Watson (Advanced Allied Health Practitioner – Acute)

Rural and Remote Health Award: Stephen Stevens (Enrolled Nurse Advanced Skills, Biloela)

CQ Health Chief Executive Emma McCahon presents Professor Gulam Khandaker with the Employee of the Year award.

CQ Health Chief Executive Emma McCahon presents Professor Gulam Khandaker with the Employee of the Year award.

Team of the Year is the Community Care Unit (CCU) in North Rockhampton.

Team of the Year winners, Community Care Unit (CCU) in North Rockhampton.

Last updated: 27 October 2022