Skip links and keyboard navigation


Youth Mental Health

A new Youth Mental Health Program Oversight Committee (Oversight Committee) has been established. The Oversight Committee is chaired by the Deputy Director-General of the Clinical Excellence Queensland and comprises senior executives in the Department of Health, Chief Executives of relevant Hospital and Health Services (HHSs), Department of the Premier and Cabinet (DPC), Department of Education (DoE), Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women (DCSYW), Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors (DCDSS), a Primary Health Network (PHN) representative, and two consumers and two carers.

The Oversight Committee met for the first time on 13 October 2017 and will issue a Communique after each meeting.

The Oversight Committee will oversee the ongoing work program associated with the outcomes from implementing the Government response to recommendations 3, 4, 5 and 6 which relate directly to the child and youth mental health services system. This program includes two streams – capital and reform. Work following on from the implementation of the Government response to recommendation 1 will be managed under the governance of Queensland Health’s System Leadership Team as it has implications across the Department of Health and HHSs and is broader than the child and youth mental health service system. For work following the implementation of the Government response to recommendation 2 , governance arrangements are being established and will draw in expertise from the Department of Health, other Government Departments and peak bodies.

A governance structure has been established for the Youth Mental Health - Capital Program. This includes:

  • Project Implementation Group—oversee delivery of the capital program
  • Project Management Group—provides direction in delivery of the capital projects including design development and procurement of the building contractor
  • Working Groups—Hospital and Health Services localised input and leadership for each facility.
  • Project Control Group/s—established for each capital project when construction commences to provide direction in delivery including building and service commissioning 
  • Adolescent Extended Treatment Centre Commissioning Steering Committee.
    Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service is leading the commissioning of this centre, including development of operational processes, workforce recruitment, and ongoing service provision and centre management, under the direction of the AET Centre Commissioning Steering Committee as part of the Youth Mental Health Program being progressed by the Mental Health Alcohol and Other Drugs Branch, Department of Health. The AET Centre Commissioning Steering Committee met for the first time on 28 August 2018 and will issue a communique following the monthly meetings to keep stakeholders informed about the commissioning activities as they unfold.
Last updated: 11 March 2019