Skip links and keyboard navigation

Health Services > North West Hospital and Health Service

North West Hospital and Health Service - Board Members

boardchair Mr Paul Woodhouse

A primary producer, Paul has been involved with a number of local and regional bodies across North and North West Queensland, over several years.

After more than 12 years in Local Government, including eight years as Mayor of McKinlay Shire, Paul is presently serving as Chairman of Regional Development Australia for the Townsville and North West region.

He is also currently a Member of the Northern Australia Health Roundtable, as well as a Member of the CSIRO Land & Water Flagship Advisory Council.


Mrs Annie Clarke Mrs Anne Clarke
Deputy Chair

Annie has lived in the Gulf Country in northwest Queensland for more than 40 years. Annie has 18 years experience in local government, including 15 years as Mayor of Burke Shire.

Annie has hands on experience in small business and economic development, roads and transport infrastructure, tourism and sports development, education and training, health and social issues, and disaster management.

Annie is also currently a member of the Central and North West Queensland Medicare Local Board.


Mr.Richard Stevens

Mr Richard Stevens
Board Member

 Richard has more than 30 years experience in public sector administration across all tiers of government. Richard has expertise in corporate governance, natural resource management and economics.

Richard is currently Deputy Chair of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA), an organisation responsible for the efficient and sustainable management of Commonwealth fish resources on behalf of the Australian community. Richard also chairs the New South Wales Ministerial Fishing Advisory Council, along with a number of natural resource management planning advisory groups around the country.

Previous board appointments include Chair of the South Australian Country Fire Service Board, member of the New South Wales Natural Resources Advisory Council, Board member of the Queensland Rural Adjustment Authority.

Ms Rowena McNally Ms Rowena McNally
Board Member

Rowena is an experienced company director and corporate lawyer specialising in health, infrastructure, and corporate governance. She has previously held positions as Chair of the Quality and Risk Committees for Mount Olivet Hospital, St Vincent’s Hospital, and Holy Spirit Hospital.

Rowena is currently Chair of Mount Isa Water Board and Catholic Health Australia. She is National President of the Institute of Arbitrators and Mediators Australia, the country’s leading not-for-profit alternative dispute resolution organisation.

Previous board appointments include Chair of the Queensland Cerebral Palsy League of Queensland, Deputy Chair of Cerebral Palsy Australia, St Vincent’s and Holy Spirit Health Limited, Mount Olivet Hospital, Holy Spirit Hospital (Chermside), and St Vincent’s Hospital (Toowoomba).

Dr. Chris Appleby Dr Christopher Appleby
Board Member

Chris is co-owner and practice manager of Flinders Medical Group Pty Ltd in Cloncurry. The centre acts as the general practice primary healthcare facility in collaboration with the local council and hospital.

The practice employs seven general practitioners (GP) and has been an accredited GP training facility since 2006. The practice is affiliated with James Cook University and accommodates medical students and nursing students in collaboration with the Mount Isa Centre for Rural and Remote Health.

Chris has a Bachelor of Science (Honours) and a Doctor of Philosophy. He is an Adjunct Senior Lecturer at James Cook University and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Chris is currently completing a Masters of Business Administration part time through the University of Newcastle.

Dr Don Bowley
Board Member

Don has been a medical officer with the Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) for more than 18 years and has been based at Mount Isa for the last 16 years. Don was a member of the Mount Isa District Health Community Council from 1999 to 2011. Don's dedication, friendship, support and care of people living in the area’s remote townships, rural stations and Indigenous communities is legendary, and community members acknowledge him as “the best in the west”.

Don has made significant contributions to health service improvements through education, training and development. He has previously been Medical Student Supervisor at James Cook University (Mount Isa Centre for Rural and Remote Health) and Senior Lecturer (Professional), School of Public Health, Tropical Medicine and Rehabilitation Sciences at James Cook University.

Don's community and professional contributions have been recognised over many years. In 2005 and 2011 Don received Mount Isa City Council Special Achievement.

Kari Arbouin Ms Karen Arbouin
Board Member

Kari is an Associate Vice Chancellor for CQUniversity. Previously she worked for 11 years in senior management positions at James Cook University (JCU), including acting in the role of CEO for JCU’s Singapore campus. Kari was also involved in major business development projects for JCU including planning of the successful funding bid for the Cairns Research Institute.

Kari is a registered nurse and practising midwife. Whilst in the role of Director of Nursing at Julia Creek she led the hospital to becoming the first Australian Council on Healthcare Standards accredited hospital in north-west Queensland. She has also held the position of Director of Nursing at The Wesley Hospital in Townsville. Kari was awarded Julia Creek Hospital, Australia Day and Queensland Health awards for her service to the hospital and community.

Kari was a founding Board member for the James Cook University’s health practice, and Board Chair of the University’s child care facilities. She holds academic qualifications in health, business, law and public health. Kari is an international reviewer for universities in the United Kingdom and United Arab Emirates. She is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Last Updated: 01 October 2015
Last Reviewed: 01 October 2015