Skip links and keyboard navigation

Northern New South Wales moves to non-restricted rules

12 October 2021

Queensland Health will reinstate the non-restricted border zone rules to all northern New South Wales (NSW) local government areas (LGAs) from 1am Wednesday 13 October.

This will mean Queenslanders travelling to, and residents of, Bourke Shire, City of Broken Hill, Kyogle, Lismore City, Richmond Valley, and the unincorporated Far West will be able to cross the border for more reasons.

For a list of permitted reasons, visit the Queensland Government website.

It is vital that anyone with symptoms of COVID-19 gets tested immediately, even if the symptoms are only mild. For a list of testing clinics, please visit

Last updated: 12 October 2021