Skip links and keyboard navigation

Queensland COVID-19 Update

10 September 2021

Public Health Alert – Sunnybank

A public health alert is being issued for contact tracing locations in Sunnybank and Sunnybank Hills.

We are asking all Queenslanders to regularly monitor the list of exposure venues on the Queensland Health website and follow the public health advice, as there may be more locations.

Contact tracing venues can be found at

A reminder for all Queenslanders – if you have any COVID-19 symptoms at any time, no matter how mild, you should immediately get tested for COVID-19.

Data update for new case

A 13-year-old student tested positive to COVID-19 today. The case will be officially recorded in tomorrow’s case numbers.

Investigations are ongoing regarding this case, however Queensland Health can confirm the student was active in the community during their infectious period.

The student attends St Thomas More College, located at Sunnybank.

Queensland Health is working with the college and various stakeholders to confirm quarantine and testing requirements for all children, staff and their families. At this stage, all children, staff and their families have been asked to quarantine at home for 14 days.

More information will be available tomorrow.

Restrictions on visitors for Logan and South Brisbane

From 1am Saturday 11 September, visitors to prisons, hospitals, aged care and disability care facilities will be restricted in the Logan City Council area and the Brisbane City Council, south of the Brisbane River.

New South Wales border zone update

In light of New South Wales restrictions easing in parts of regional NSW, some border restrictions will be eased from 1am Monday 13 September.

Essential workers and students will be able to travel between Queensland and 12 Local Government Areas of the New South Wales border zone – Tweed Heads, Ballina, Byron Bay, Moree Plains, Gwydir, Clarence Valley, Inverell, Glen Innes Severn Shire, Tenterfield, Kyogle, Richmond Valley and Lismore.

Individuals from these LGAs must not have travelled to, or been in contact with a person from, locked down areas of New South Wales in the past 14 days.

Travel across the border will only be permitted for essential work and essential purposes, which are:

  • to get food or other essential goods or services for household needs or other household purposes
  • to get medical care or supplies or other health care services including a scheduled COVID-19 vaccination (you cannot enter for a walk-in appointment), which cannot reasonably be obtained with New South Wales
  • to comply with an order to attend a court or tribunal in person in the border zone
  • donate blood
  • perform any work that cannot be done from home or to provide emergency volunteering
  • attend school, tertiary education or childcare
  • provide assistance, care or support to a vulnerable person or family member or visit a terminally ill relative
  • fulfill an obligation relating to shared parenting, child contact or contact between siblings
  • in an emergency situation
  • for safety reasons
  • as directed by an emergency officer
  • to follow an exemption, you have been granted by the Chief Health Officer.

Travel across the border is not permitted for purposes not outlined above (such as attending weddings and funerals, attending sport matches, partaking in recreation activities, visiting family, friends or people in the border zone).

Essential workers who are coming into Queensland from one of the 12 NSW LGAs will be required to have had at least one dose of the COVID-19 vaccination (if you are eligible for vaccination). These individuals will not be required to follow stay-at-home orders when they are back in Queensland.

Students coming into Queensland from one of the 12 LGAs can recommence face-to-face learning. There is no requirement for students to have had one dose of the COVID-19 vaccine at this stage.

These eased restrictions do not allow Queensland residents, or those wishing to relocate to Queensland, who are currently in NSW to cross the border.

The current restrictions will remain in place for Local Government Areas in NSW that are still required to follow stay-at-home-orders. In the border zone, this includes the LGAs of Bourke, Walgett, Brewarrina and the Unincorporated Far West of NSW.

Mask wearing

Existing mask wearing requirements in South East Queensland have been extended for a further two weeks, to 24 September 2021.

Last updated: 10 September 2021