Skip links and keyboard navigation

Professor Ajay Rane OAM - Board member Townsville Hospital and Health Board


Professor Ajay Rane is the Director of Urogynaecology at Townsville University Hospital, Director of Mater Pelvic Health and Research and Head of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at James Cook University (JCU). Professor Rane holds a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from the University of Poona and a PhD from JCU.

Ajay was a finalist Australian of the Year in 2012 and was awarded the Order of Australia (OAM) in 2013. Professor Rane has spent two decades treating and operating on women with catastrophic childbirth injuries in some of the world’s poorest countries. In 2016, he received the Mahatma Gandhi Pravasi Award for Humanitarian Work in Women’s Health.

Ajay is the current Chair of the Fistula Committee for the International Federation of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists and is leading the charge for fistula education and prevention in the developing world. In May 2020, Ajay received an honorary fellowship from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologist for his work in advancing women’s health.

Ajay is the current Chair of the Townsville Hospital and Health Board’s Safety and Quality Committee.

Last updated: 29 July 2020

Dr Kevin Arlett

Professor Ajay Rane OAM