Skip links and keyboard navigation

Dr Lorraine Ferguson AM

Board Chair, Sunshine Coast Hospital and Health Board

Dr Lorraine Ferguson AM is a registered nurse, a respected educator, an experienced executive and board member and author of a number of published works on healthcare reform, clinical management and nursing. She was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2002 for service to critical care nursing, particularly in clinical, management and education disciplines, and through professional nursing organisations.

Since 2008, Lorraine has worked as a casual academic and independent education consultant and has been involved in research and development of online educational materials for a number of tertiary institutions.  Previously she held a conjoint appointment as Associate Professor of Nursing (Clinical Leadership and Professional Development) with the University of Western Sydney and the Sydney West Area Health Service.

Lorraine has held senior nursing and management positions at The College of Nursing, Northern Sydney Area Health Service and Royal North Shore Hospital and has served as a member of Nursing Executive Teams and as a member and chair of local, state and national Committees including quality, casemix, clinical costing, health care funding, research ethics and curriculum development. She also held numerous board memberships and executive positions including President and Honorary Treasurer, New South Wales College of Nursing.

Lorraine is a Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing, an Associate Fellow of the Australasian College of Health Service Management and a life member of the Australian College of Critical Care Nurses.

Lorraine was a member and Deputy Chair of the inaugural Sunshine Coast Hospital and Health Board from June 2012, appointed to Board Chair in May 2016.

Lorraine’s academic qualifications include:

  • Bachelor of Social Science, University of New England, 1988
  • Masters of Public Health, University of Sydney, 1992
  • Doctor of Philosophy, Queensland University of Technology, 2001

Last updated: 20 July 2017