Skip links and keyboard navigation

Other states’ voluntary assisted dying schemes

Queensland is the fifth state in Australia to make voluntary assisted dying legal.

Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and most recently South Australia have all passed voluntary assisted dying laws. Victoria’s scheme has been in place since June 2019 while Western Australia’s scheme commenced on 1 July 2021. New South Wales will soon consider a Bill. The Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory are also looking to make laws on voluntary assisted dying.

The Queensland Law Reform Commission undertook significant research into the experience of other states in undertaking its work and developing a draft law.

While there are similarities and differences to other states, Queensland’s scheme is designed to meet the needs of our diverse population and our large and decentralised state, taking into account access to health practitioners.

Read more about the laws and implementation of voluntary assisted dying schemes in:

Last updated: 17 September 2021