Skip links and keyboard navigation

Our Board

Street addressPostal address
Level 9, CITI Building
46-48 Sheridan St
PO Box 5607
+61 7 4226
Office hours 
8.30am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday  

Profiles of Board members

Chairwoman, Ms Elthies (Ella) Kris

Ms Kris is a proud Torres Strait Islander woman, with cultural connection to the land and sea from her father from the Mabuiag, Saibai and St Pauls and her mother from Mer and Erub. She carries and lives by my mother’s totem Serar, (tern bird).  Ms Kris brings more than 20 years of experience within the health industry, including corporate, primary health care and public health and through volunteering with Torres Shire Council to lead, support and empower health changes within her community of Thursday Island.  Her current role includes developing, planning and implementing sustainable health related activities within Torres Strait Island Regional Council communities.  Ms Kris has a Graduate Diploma in Indigenous Health Promotion and a Master of Public Health.

Associate Professor, Dr Ruth Stewart

Dr Stewart is Associate Professor of Rural Medicine and Director, Rural Clinical Training and Support at James Cook University. She also has been a member of the Cape York HHS board since 2012, and the Torres and Cape HHS board. Dr Stewart has chaired the HHS’s Safety and Quality Committee and serves on the Audit and Risk Committee and brings extensive management and clinical experience to the new board.

Mrs Tracey Jia

Since 2012, Mrs Jia has been a member of the Cape York HHS board and the Torres and Cape HHS board. She is well regarded for her recent work with the Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services. In this role she has assisted people with a disability and their families in Weipa and the West Cape communities of Aurukun, Napranum and Mapoon.

Councillor Fraser (Ted) Nai

As a member of the Torres Strait Island Regional Council and respected councillor for Masig (Yorke) Island, Mr Nai brings leadership and local government experience, as well as a wealth of local knowledge to the role.

Mr Horace Baira

Mr Baira is a member of the Torres Strait Regional Authority and was previously a member of the Torres Strait Island Regional Council as the Councillor for Badu. He is committed to delivering better services to his community and to preserving the environment. He will provide strong local input to the board.

Mr Brian Woods

Mr Woods has a 35-year career in business and financial management, with 10+ years recent executive-level experience in enabling and applying high standards of corporate governance, statutory compliance, policy, strategy and business performance across the region.  Brian is the director/owner of DFK Kidsons, a public accountancy practice based in Cairns and his head of DFK Kidsons Indigenous practice.  Brian believes in future-focussed business partnership and relishes the opportunity to contribute to client success. Brian is a Certified Practicing Accountant, Fellow of CPA Australia and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  He brings extensive financial, business and management expertise to the Torres and Cape HHS Board.
Councillor Karen (Kaz) Price

Ms Price lives in Cooktown and has been involved in community and regional-based roles including management of regional projects in that town for the past 12 years.  She is currently Director of the Cooktown District Community Centre and is a Councillor with Cook Shire Council with portfolios across community, arts and education.  Ms Price previously worked for Cape York Hospital and Health Service as manager of the Learning and Development Unit.

Deputy Chair, Dr Scott Davis

Dr Davis is based in Cairns is a highly skilled practitioner who has worked in regional development and Indigenous health, and is committed to addressing the social determinants of health for rural and remote Indigenous communities.  He has more than 25 years' experience in senior leadership roles within the health, education and research sectors and more than 20 years of board experience. Dr Davis is currently co-leading an international development project in PNG, and is actively involved with local communities.  He holds a doctorate in Indigenous Community Capacity Development and a Masters in International Public Health.

Ms Rhonda Shibasaki

Ms Shibasaki has worked extensively in the health sector throughout Queensland in urban, regional and remote communities since 2008.  She has undertaken various executive roles and is experienced in leading change management processes at board, corporate, clinical and service provision levels.  Ms Shibasaki is recognised for introducing management and system reforms in several community health organisations.  As the operator of two businesses in the surrounding areas of Thursday Island, Ms Shibasaki brings proven leadership and local knowledge. She is committed to being involved in addressing health issues within community.

Adviser, Ms Tina Chinery
Last updated: 1 November 2019