Skip links and keyboard navigation

Acute Mental Health


The Acute Mental Health Inpatient Unit has 32 beds, which consists of:

  • 4 Psychiatric Intensive Care beds
  • 28 Open Unit beds

Within the open area we have a specialist mother and baby unit (2 beds) with overnight facilities for relatives.

Our aim is to assist patients to achieve optimum health and quality of life through an approach which recognises their unique physical, emotional, social, cultural and spiritual dimensions.

The Psychiatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) provides a short term, low stimulus environment. Each patient is assessed by the multidisciplinary team. The unit has a high level of nursing input which ensures more intensive treatment for consumers who present with a higher level of risk and can not be managed safely in the open setting.

Patients are assessed for transfer to the Open Unit or discharge on a daily basis.

The Open Unit consists of 28 acute beds which provides inpatient psychiatric treatment and intervention for people who are in an acute phase of their illness with the aim to reduce symptoms and enhance recovery in a least restrictive environment.

The acute inpatient unit staff operate as a multidisciplinary team. Every patient will have a comprehensive assessment and, in consultation with the patient and/or their relatives/carers, an individual service plan will be developed to address their identified needs

Contact Details



Acute Mental Health Inpatient Unit

The Townsville Hospital, 100 Angus Smith Drive, Douglas QLD 4814

 Postal Address  IMB 49, PO Box 670, Townsville QLD 4810
 Phone  +61 7 4433 3000
 Facsimile  +61 7 4433 3001

Referral Procedure

Intake and Assessment Team, referral to Consultant Psychiatrist.

Our Health Team

  • Psychiatrists
  • Nurses (Mental Health Nurses)
  • Medical Officers
  • Psychologists
  • Psychotherapist
  • Social Workers
  • Occupational Therapist
  • Mental Health Service Assistants
  • Patient Service Assistants
  • Indigenous Mental Health Workers
  • Service Coordinator
  • Administration Officers

Last updated: 26 June 2012