Skip links and keyboard navigation

Requirements to practise

Queensland nurses and midwives must be registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) to practise in Australia.

There are 4 types of registration for Australian and New Zealand qualified nurses and midwives in Australia:

  • general registration
  • limited registration
  • non-practicing registration
  • student registration.

Where relevant, practitioners with additional qualifications or specific expertise may be eligible for endorsement of their registration.

Internationally qualified nurses and midwives

The NMBA also have a specific framework for the assessment of internationally qualified nurses and midwives for registration. This framework also includes information on relevant English language proficiency levels requirements to work in Australia.

Last updated: 14 May 2021