Skip links and keyboard navigation

About us

The Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service (TCHHS) is an independent statutory body governed by a single Board, and managed from hubs in Weipa, Cairns and Thursday Island.  It is the most northerly of Queensland's Hospital and Health Services and covers over 158,000km2 across 13 local government areas.

  • The TCHHS is one of Australia's largest providers of health services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
  • Provides health care to a resident population of more than 25,000 people of which 63.7% identify as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.
  • The northern boundary is adjacent to Papua New Guinea
  • Comprises of 31 primary health care centres, 2 hospitals (Thursday Island and Bamaga), a multi-purpose health service (Cooktown) and an integrated health service (Weipa).
  • Has approximately 800 employees and supports a wide range of healthcare providers including outreach teams and visiting specialist services from other health services and non-government providers.

Visit Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service profile

Our vision

"Healthy people and communities in the Torres Strait, Northern Peninsula Area and across Cape York."

To achieve our vision Torres and Cape HHS will:

  • respect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and cultures.
  • work in partnership with communities and other organisations.
  • provide high quality, innovative and effective remote health services.

Our purpose

To improve the health and wellbeing of people in the Torres Strait, Northern Peninsula Area and Cape York areas by partnering with communities.

Our values

Image of TCHHS Values: courage, accountability, respect, engage

At TCHHS our values are more than words, they are the principles that define and guide our behaviours and decision making in our daily work, which leads to us providing high quality health services to our communities.

  • We have the courage to stand up, do the right thing and respectfully express our opinions.
  • We demonstrate accountability for our actions, live up to our responsibilities and recognise that people put their trust in us.
  • We respect and acknowledge the diversity of our colleagues, patients, communities and partners and treat others as we would like to be treated.
  • We recognise that to engage means having a positive connection to our workplace which allows everyone to feel pride and unleash their full potential.

Our accreditation status

In accordance with the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme, TCHHS undergo organisation-wide reviews against these standards:

  • National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards,
  • National Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS), and
  • Quality Improvement Council (QIC) Health and Community Services Standards.
Last updated: 10 June 2022