Skip links and keyboard navigation

Superseded - Queensland COVID-19 Restricted Areas (No. 28)

This direction has been superseded on 6 November 2021. See the current Queensland COVID-19 Restricted Areas (No. 30).


Effective from: 9:30pm 30 September 2021

Posted: 30 September 2021

Superseded on: 6 November 2021

l, Dr Jeannette Young, Chief Health Officer, reasonably believe it is necessary to publish the following list of Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas pursuant to the powers under s362B of the Public Health Act 2005 to assist in containing, or to respond to, the spread of COVID-19 within the community.

The Direction applies from the time of publication of this Direction, until the end of the declared public health emergency, unless it is revoked or replaced. This Direction replaces the public health direction referred to as the Queensland COVID-19 Restricted Areas Direction (No. 27). The purpose of this Direction is to identify Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas for:

  • Public Health Direction – Residential Aged Care Direction (No. 9) or its successors
  • Public Health Direction – Disability Accommodation Services Direction (No. 24) or its successors
  • Public Health Direction – Hospital Entry Direction (No. 5) or its successors

From 4:00 pm 8 October 2021, there are no Local Government Areas listed as Queensland COVID-19 restricted areas for the above listed Directions.

Local government area means an area specified in this Direction whose names and boundaries are provided for by the Local Government Regulation 2012 or the City of Brisbane Regulation 2012.

Penalties: A person to whom the direction applies commits an offence if the person fails, without reasonable excuse, to comply with the direction.

Last updated: 6 November 2021